The Crowe Valley Conservation Authority is issuing Water Conditions Statement- Water Safety

Posted On Wednesday April 01, 2020

Recent precipitation and snowmelt in the Crowe Valley Conservation Authority watershed this past weekend has contributed significantly to increase lake levels, stream and river flows. Warmer temperatures will also continue to melt the snowpack in the northern reaches of the watershed, which will input more runoff into the watercourses by the week’s end.

Minor flooding in flood prone areas of the Crowe Valley watershed is likely or already occurring.  Severe flooding may become a reality if rainfall events transpire during the period of already high water conditions.

Flows around dams and hydro generation plants have increased and the ice thinning could be severe for a considerable distance from the dam.  Structures such as culverts and bridges with fast flowing water going through or underneath them must be avoided as well.  Ice which was used recreationally or walked on only days ago will begin to wear away and may not be safe.  CVCA staff strongly advise residents, especially children stay away from these dangerous zones.

Hypothermia is also a threat for anyone who ignores the warnings and either falls through the ice or into open water.  Avoid banks of rivers and streams where snow and ice make slippery or unstable walking conditions which could lead to accidently falling into water.  Smaller tributaries such as streams, creeks and ditches with fast flowing water must be avoided to eliminate exposure to hazardous conditions.

The Crowe Valley Conservation Authority has updated this Water Safety Statement to inform the public of current water levels, flows and changing ice conditions. 

CVCA staff will continue to monitor levels and flows daily and this Watershed Conditions Statement will be updated as conditions warrant.  If there are any questions or concerns, contact Tim Pidduck, CVCA General Manager or Neil McConkey, Water Resources Supervisor at 613-472-3137.  The CVCA includes portions of the municipalities of Trent Hills, Stirling-Rawdon, Marmora and Lake, Havelock-Belmont-Methuen, North Kawartha, Wollaston, Limerick, Tudor and Cashel, Faraday and Highlands East.


News Release